Mum Reviews: Snoop Dogg – Gin and Juice

Mum Reviews

To start her on her journey to rap nirvana, mum was given Gin and Juice from Snoop Dogg’s 1992 classic, Doggystyle. Her review is below. Sorry Snoop, I tried.

 

Mum, what did you think?

“I did not like the song, if indeed that’s what one calls it! There didn’t seem to be a tune to it, and I have always struggled with thick American accents with poor enunciation. If you can’t make out the words, then to my mind it makes the whole purpose of the song futile.”

You’re doing this next.

 

What about the lyrics?

“I have never warmed to music which feels it has to make an impact by inserting vulgar words. I mean, look at Marvin Gaye, Stevie Wonder, and Eric Clapton. They saw no need for it…”

This is the same Eric Clapton who screamed on stage, “THROW THE WOGS OUT, KEEP BRITAIN WHITE!”

“I am unsure of the message this song gives out… but from what I did pick up, it was to do with pimps, whores, drugs and booze?  If so why would people be interested in such things to influence their life? I find it concerning that this kind of music gets so much exposure.

This is going to be a lot less fun than I originally thought.

 

Anything else?

“I guess the only plus side was the cathartic chorus. I can imagine how people would get hooked on humming that.”

Yeah, that chorus is certainly… cathartic.

 

MumRank: 1/10

Things can only get better.

 

snoop dogg looking confused

Leave a Reply

